MAC blue brown pigment

MAC blue brown pigments is the second MAC product I have bought. I saw a tutorial by Jaclyn Hill and I just fell in love with it, it’s a shade that people either love or hate, and I love it!! It’s a pigment which means it is a powder eyeshadow that comes in a little jar. Pigment’s can be used for more than just shadow but I think that this pigment might be a little intense if you use it as a lip color or blush, and I am not that bold when it comes to experimenting with make up. I have never used a pigment before, so it takes a little trial and error with learning how to apply this properly without a ton of fallout. With this pigment a little bit goes a long way, and it’s bluish red brown shades, I think would look amazing on anyone’s skin tone.

photo 1

photo 2-2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5-2

I used this with a basic nude shadow, and MAC’s brown script shadow in my crease, for a more smokey eye. Which is perfect if you want a little more bold, yet simple and soft look for the evening. I don’t really use this pigment during the daytime, for me it looks a little too intense, but I’m sure if you mix this with some lighter colors you can get a perfectly wearable daytime eye.

photo 2-2

photo 1-2

photo 3-3

The only problem I can see with this pigment is that when it’s sheered out, the brown color fades into more of a warm/soft-wine red, which doesn’t bother me I actually still love it, but it could make some people look like they have been punched in the face. So just don’t sheer it out so you can get the full blue brown effect!

p.s. This is just my personal opinion of this product, you can get a sample of it to try it out and form your own opinion of this pigment color.

Leave a comment